Let’s Talk TED Talks

As I was affected by my raging ADD, or some may just say I was just surrounded by too many social media outlets, I came across a TED Talk on “How to Speak So That People Want To Listen.”

Now no one freak out. This isn’t an attempt to get you all to listen to me or a summary on the talk. When you get distracted in five minutes, you can go watch the talk on YouTube. However this talk led me to other talks and eventually an hour had past and I still hadn’t done any work.

This brings me to congratulate Richard Saul Wurman, the founder of TED Talks.

TED’s misson statements reads:

“We believe passionately in the power of ideas to change attitudes, lives and ultimately, the world. So we’re building here a clearinghouse that offers free knowledge and inspiration from the world’s most inspired thinkers, and also a community of curious souls to engage with ideas and each other.”

They have accomplished just that.

There isn’t one TED Talk that is boring, non-educational or a waste of time. If I get distracted by these talks I honestly don’t feel like I have used my time poorly.

After Wurman broadened TED topics to include not just speakers under the acronym Technology, Entertainment and Design in the 90s, he could now include viewers and speakers of all kinds.

One doesn’t have to be a famous person, professor or influential figure to just “Talk” to a group of people. TED allows anyone to bring up their ideas and verbalize the distinct knowledge ever individual has and every individual benefits from hearing.

It connects us to humanity, realizing that the thoughts Canadians, Norwegians or the Chinese have are the same as ours.

Anyone can watch, listen and speak and why yes: you, yes you, can be one.

On Feb. 7, UNC-Chapel Hill (as I have appointed myself the voice of the entire university) will have its very own TEDxTalk.

Our own peers will have the opportunity to speak to the student body, faculty and other random people that attend the talk.

As this point has the potential to degrade you as you aren’t the one who will be talking at the conference, or people your age are succeeding and you are wasting time reading my blog instead of finding a cure for cancer, it has more of the potential to make you realize how influential TED is. It’s so influential that its affecting us right now.

DISCLAIMER: If you’re degrading yourself, don’t because you’re awesome! So awesome that I know that and I don’t even know you. Also the words “wasting your time” and “my blog” don’t fall in the same sentence. Fact.

ANYWAYS: I give you permission to go look at some TED Talks right now. Here is your permit to divert your attention to something else besides Facebook, Instagram or homework.

PS: Here is the link to the TED Talk on “How to Speak So That People Want To Listen.” So if I did a bad job, you’ll know how to do better:

PPS: Let me know how TED Talks affect you? Do you find them interesting? Do you like grilled cheese? IDK…..say something.

 

Leave a Reply

